You are here

2016 Laboratory Astrophysics Prize

2016 LAD Laboratory Astrophysics Prize Goes to Peter Beiersdorfer
Peter Beiersdorfer

The Laboratory Astrophysics Division (LAD) of the American Astronomical Society (AAS) is pleased to announce its 2016 Laboratory Astrophysics Prize, given to an individual who has made significant contributions to laboratory astrophysics over an extended period of time, goes to Dr. Peter Beiersdorfer of the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL), California, for his numerous contributions to the study of astronomical environments at extreme-ultraviolet and X-ray wavelengths.

Beiersdorfer pioneered techniques to reproduce conditions on comets and in the Sun's atmosphere, interstellar space, and the centers of galaxies. A major focus of his research involves characterizing atomic and molecular diagnostics as revealed by their X-ray spectra. His studies of emission from the inner electron shells of iron, oxygen, neon, silicon, and sulfur are used to interpret the physical conditions in astronomical environments, both near and far. His work on X-ray emission from charge exchange revealed the importance of this process in cometary atmospheres.

Beiersdorfer received his PhD in plasma physics from the Department of Astrophysical Sciences at Princeton University. His previous honors include Fellowship in the American Physical Society, and he was the recipient of many LLNL Distinguished Achievement Awards, most recently in 2003, and one of the inaugural Outstanding Referee Awards of the American Physical Society in 2008. In 2016 he is chair of the nearly 3,000-member-strong Far West Section of the American Physical Society. He has trained several graduate students who have gone on to prominent careers in astrophysics.

The LAD Laboratory Astrophysics Prize includes a cash award, a framed certificate, and an invited lecture by the recipient at a meeting of the Laboratory Astrophysics Division.

Farid Salama
LAD Chair / NASA Ames Research Center, California
+1 650-604-3384

Steven Federman
LAD Past-Chair / University of Toledo, Ohio
+1 419-530-2652

Daniel Wolf Savin
LAD Secretary / Columbia University, New York
+1 212-854-4124

Peter Beiersdorfer
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, California
+1 925-423-3985

The AAS Laboratory Astrophysics Division (LAD, advances our understanding of the universe through the promotion of fundamental theoretical and experimental research into the underlying processes that drive the cosmos.

The American Astronomical Society (AAS,, established in 1899 and based in Washington, DC, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America. The mission of the AAS is to enhance and share humanity's scientific understanding of the universe.