You are here

LAD Newsletter 5

Welcome to the Fifth Newsletter from the AAS Laboratory Astrophysics
Division (LAD). Here we provide information on:

How AAS members can join the LAD
How non-AAS members can join the LAD
Donate to the LAD
Nature editorial on the importance of laboratory astrophysics
Upcoming meetings:
* 2nd Announcement of the Second LAD meeting
* Faraday Discussion Number 168 – Astrochemistry of Dust, Ice and Gas
* 13th Biennial HITRAN Conference

For up-to-date information, we encourage you to regularly consult the
LAD web pages at


How AAS members can join LAD

The AAS Membership renewal season is still on.  Renew your AAS
membership by 31 December 2013 to take advantage of the new two-year
renewal option, locking in the 2014 rate for 2015 as well.  For each
year, you'll also receive a 15% discount off your share of the author
charges for a paper in any of the AAS journals.

More information can be found at

How non-AAS members can join LAD

1. Join the AAS (see above) and select the LAD as your division.  This
is the way to show the strongest possible support for the LAD.  If you
will be attending LAD or other AAS meetings, then this is also the
financially advantageous path. Information is available from the AAS webpage

2. Join the LAD as an affiliate member, if you are a member of another
recognized professional organization with interests related to
laboratory astrophysics. Those interested in becoming affiliate members
can join through the LAD membership page

The Bylaws require that a new application for affiliate membership shall
be sponsored by at least two Full members of the Division.  Renewal
applications do not need to be re-sponsored.  If you are interested in
joining, a list of Full LAD members can be found at
If you do not know two LAD members, please submit your application
anyway.  It will be vetted by the LAD Executive Committee for approval.

Donate to the LAD

There are many ways to donate to either the LAD General Fund or the LAD
Prize Fund.  An easy way is to go to and click on "Donate"
located on the bottom right hand corner of the web page.  On the next
page, click on the LAD tab.  This will take you to the LAD donation page
where you can input the amount you would like to give.  Payment is by
credit card.  To pay, you will have to sign into your AAS account at
this point.  Those without an account can create one and proceed from there.


Nature editorial on the importance of laboratory astrophysics

Check out the recent editorial in Nature, 503, 437 (2013) about the importance
of laboratory astrophysics:

Second Announcement of the Second LAD meeting

The Second LAD meeting will be held jointly with the AAS summer meeting
from June 1-5, 2014 at the Westin Copley Place in Boston, MA. Please
mark your calendars.

The meeting will feature an AAS plenary speaker in laboratory
astrophysics; LAD sessions devoted to atoms, molecules, dust and ices,
plasmas, planetary science, nuclear, and particles; and an LAD poster
session to run the duration of the meeting.  Each session will include
two invited 30 minute talks and two contributed 15 minute talks.
Abstract submission for contributed talks and posters will open around
01 Feb 2014 and run till about 01 Mar 2014.

Additional meeting logistical information will be posted at as it becomes


Faraday Discussion Number 168 – Astrochemistry of Dust, Ice and Gas

7 - 9 April 2014, Leiden, The Netherlands

Details about this meeting can be found at

Since LAD is a cosponsor for this meeting, LAD members can get a
discount of £25 off the student registration fee and £100 off the
standard registration fee.  The discount code is 168coADIG


First Circular
13th Biennial HITRAN Conference
(united with 12th ASA Conference)
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Cambridge, USA
Monday, 23 June <-> Wednesday, 25 June 2014


The Thirteenth Biennial HITRAN Conference will take place 23-25 June 2014
(starting on the Monday just after the "Ohio" International Symposium on Molecular
Spectroscopy at CHAMPAIGN-URBANA, ILLINOIS). The HITRAN conference will
be held at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics in Cambridge, Massachusetts.  
This meeting will continue the union with the ASA (Atmospheric Spectroscopy Applications)
workshop that has traditionally been held in Reims, France.

The meeting will be organized around the topics:
- Current status of the molecular spectroscopic database
- Relevant new spectroscopic data
- Priorities for incorporation of new parameters
- Laboratory techniques
- User applications
- Characterization of spectroscopic parameters required by
    radiative-transfer modeling
- Database archiving, access, and methodology

Contributions to the meeting will be selected according to their relevance to the HITRAN database
and the high-temperature compilation (HITEMP), as well as spectroscopic applications. This year
we also plan to have a special session on line-shape representations.

The meeting will include oral and poster presentations.  We encourage posters that promote
interaction among participants, and communications that present new research prior to
peer-reviewed publication.

The registration will be open in February 2014. The deadline for submission of abstracts is
12 May, 2014, but we suggest submitting as early as can make alterations
prior to this deadline.

Information about conference fees and accommodations will be posted on the web site
at the time of the second circular.

         Laurence S. Rothman         Charlene Lemnios
         Iouli E. Gordon             Kelly Chance
         Joseph Webber

           Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
           Atomic and Molecular Physics Division, MS50
           60 Garden Street
           Cambridge MA 02138-1516, USA
                  Tel: +1 617-496-2259
                  FAX: +1 617-496-7519

         Peter F. Bernath              Joseph Hodges
         Manfred Birk                  David Jacquemart
         Vincent Boudon                Johannes Orphal
         Linda R. Brown                Valery I. Perevalov
         Kelly Chance                  Agnes Perrin
         Athena Coustenis              Maud Rotger
         Brian J. Drouin               Laurence S. Rothman
         Jean-Marie Flaud              Mary Ann Smith
         Robert R. Gamache             Jonathan Tennyson
         Iouli E. Gordon               Ha Tran
                                       Vladimir Tyuterev