

LABORATORY ASTROPHYSICS DIVISION (LAD)

Laboratory Astrophysics Division (LAD)

The object of the Laboratory Astrophysics Division is to advance our understanding of the Universe through the promotion of fundamental theoretical and experimental research into the underlying processes that drive the Cosmos.



Read more

9

Main Menu

- About AAS
- About LAD
- Bylaws
- ▶ Leadership
- Members
- Communication
- Education & Outreach
- Meetings
- Prizes
- Public Policy
- Links

http://lad.aas.org

- I. Leadership
- **II. Election Results**
- **III. Annual Metrics**
- **IV. Past Year Highlights**
- V. Prizes
- **VI.** The Future

I. Leadership

- II. Election Results
- **III. Annual Metrics**
- **IV. Past Year Highlights**
- V. Prizes
- **VI.** The Future

LAD Committee Members

Chair:Farid Salama (2015-2017)Vice Chair:Randall Smith (2015-2017)Past Chair:Steven Federman (2015-2017)Treasurer:Roberto Macini (2016-2019)Secretary:Daniel Savin (2016-2019)

Members-at-Large:

· 2014-2017

Edward Brown (nuclear) Karin Öberg (ices)

• **2015-2018**

Jan Cami (molecules) Oswald Siegmund (particles)

• 2016-2019

Crystal Brogan (dust) Stefanie Milam (planetary) John Raymond (plasmas)

- I. Leadership
- **II. Election Results**
- **III. Annual Metrics**
- **IV. Past Year Highlights**
- V. Prizes
- **VI.** The Future

Election Nominating Committee

Glenn Wahlgren (STScl), Chair Edward Brown (Michigan State U.) Perry A. Gerakines (NASA GSFC)

Election Results

31% voting members cast ballots (15-20% typical for AAS elections).

Vice-Chair (2017-2019) *Philip Stancil (University of Georgia) Murthy Gudipati (Jet Propulsion Laboratory)

Members-at-Large (Ices, 2017-2020): *Ella M. Sciamma O'Brien (NASA Ames Research Center) Geoffrey A. Blake (CalTech)

Members-at-Large (Nuclear, 2017-2020): *Artemis Spyrou (Michigan State University) Moshe Gai (University of Connecticut)

(*Elected)

- I. Leadership
- II. Election Results
- **III. Annual Metrics**
- **IV. Past Year Highlights**
- V. Prizes
- **VI.** The Future

Annual Metrics

Membership (as of 30 May 2017)

- 173 members in all categories.
- Growth of 19 since last year!
- 51 voted out of 162 voting members.
- 31% voted this year (31% 2017, 36% 2015, 40% 2014).

LAD listserv

- 524 subscribers.
- Nearly unchanged since last year.

Funds: \$20,316 on 04/30/2017 (last year: \$16,561)

- General funds \$15,367 (last year: \$11552).
- Prize funds \$4,949 (last year: \$5009).

- I. Leadership
- II. Election Results
- **III. Annual Metrics**
- **IV. Past Year Highlights**
- V. Prizes
- **VI.** The Future

Highlights of Past Year

Lab Astro Prize & Early Career Award Committee

Steve Federman (U. Toledo), Chair Michael Duncan (U. Georgia) Moshe Gai (U. Connecticut) Steve Manson (Georgia State U.) Farid Salama (NASA ARC), ex officio

Dissertation Prize Committee

Farid Salama (NASA ARC), Chair Moshe Gai (U. Connecticut) Steve Manson (Georgia State U.)

Highlights of Past Year Prizes and Awards

Laboratory Astrophysics Prize (2017)

- James E. Lawler (U. Wisconsin Madison)
- Prize lecture at 2017 LAD meeting.

Early Career Award (2017)

- Carolyn Kuranz (U. Michigan).
- Prize lecture at 2017 LAD meeting.

Inaugural Dissertation Prize (2017)

- Kyle Walker (U. Georgia/U. du Havre).
- Prize lecture at 2017 LAD meeting.

Highlights of Past Year

Special sessions at other AAS division meetings

- DPS Nov 2016 (Chanover, Gudipati, Milam).
- HEAD scheduled for Aug 2017 (Smith).

LAD was presented at various meetings and workshops during the year (DPS, IAU, JSWT, ECLA, CNRS...)

JWST Guest Observer proposals to include laboratory measurements

A solicitation for input to help advise the JWST project on supporting laboratory initiatives for the analysis and interpretation of JWST data was initiated by Stefanie Milam, LAD Committee Member and JWST Deputy Project Scientist for Planetary Science.

- I. Leadership
- II. Election Results
- **III. Annual Metrics**
- **IV. Past Year Highlights**
- V. Prizes
- **VI.** The Future

2018 Honors

Laboratory Astrophysics Prize

• For significant contribution over extended time.

Early Career Award

- For significant contribution early in career.
- No more than 10 years past Ph.D. or equivalent.

Dissertation Prize

• For outstanding doctoral dissertation (or the equivalent) in laboratory astrophysics.

Cash award, citation, & invited talk at LAD meeting.

2018 Honors

Nomination package for the Laboratory Astrophysics Prize and the Early Career Award (due Mon 4 Sep 2017)

3-page narrative description

(5 pages total including figures and bibliography)

- CV
- Publication list
- Nomination letter
- 2 letters of support
- Self-nominations accepted
- Send to <u>ladsec@aas.org</u> by deadline.

Recipient announced Jan 2018; awarded Jun 2018. Nominees not selected considered for next 2 years.

2018 Honors

Nomination package for the Dissertation Prize (due Sun 31 Dec 2017)

3-page summary of the thesis

(5 pages total including figures and bibliography)

- CV
- Publication list
- Nomination letter
- 2 letters of recommendation
- A statement from the nominee's university (Ph.D. or equivalent degree has been awarded)
- Send to <u>ladsec@aas.org</u> by deadline.

Recipient announced Feb 2018; awarded Jun 2018. Nominees not selected considered for next 2 years.

- I. Leadership
- II. Election Results
- **III. Annual Metrics**
- **IV. Past Year Highlights**
- V. Prizes
- **VI.** The Future

The Future

Membership

- 3rd of five year campaign to grow to 250 members.
- Gift for bringing in new members.

Grow treasury

• Fund raise for prizes.

Strengthen connection with other AAS unitsDPS, HEAD, SPD.

Reach out to relevant IAU, ACS, APS units

Member involvement

- Committees (Meeting, Nominating, Prize).
- Public outreach events at meetings.
- Suggestions and Feedback.